Author Topic: Frank J. Tipler's Omega Point  (Read 7683 times)

Offline boxbrown

• Off to a Start
    • Everything Dies
Frank J. Tipler's Omega Point
« on: February 17, 2010, 06:36:07 PM »
Hi All, I don't post here much but I am a big fan of the show.  I wonder if anyone is familiar with Dr. Tiplers' theory of the Omega Point.  It's been dubbed a kind of scientific explanation of heaven. 

I am currently in the process of creating a graphic novel about the mythology of religion, in so far as it's all myth.  Anyway, I want to include this in the part about "heaven" but I want to include the criticism of the theory but I'm not a scientist.  It seems preposterous and definitely gets my skeptic red flags out but I'd like to hear what's wrong with the equation/theory in question. 

Offline Moloch

• Frequent Poster
  • sic semper molemannis
    • Friend of Reason Blog
Re: Frank J. Tipler's Omega Point
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 09:14:22 PM »
Michael Shermer dedicated a chapter to dealing with Dr. Tipler's Omega Point in why people believe weird things. I'll briefly summarize some of his main criticisms  (in my own words):

1) Tipler claims that Omega Point Theory is a 'testable physical theory for an omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent God" and that "if any reader has lost a loved one ... modern physics says you and they shall live again." Tipler nevers does provide any evidence for his so called testable theory and throughout the book relies on what sounds nice and what gives people hope. Nothing resembling an actual scientific hypothesis or theory is presented.